hip hop music

April 15, 2004

Hip-Hop Box Giveaway

I'll be announcing the winner of our "Ghostface vs. Spam Text" today or tomorrow, but in the meantime I've got another present for you. Well, for one of you.

Next week Hip-O Records releases "The Hip Hop Box," a 4-CD box covering twenty years of hip-hop history from "Rappers Delight" to Common's "The Light." Thanks to Cornerstone once again, I've got one complete set to giveaway to one of my beloved readers/posters. So here's what I need you to do:

1. Post here with your favorite line from one of the songs featured in the box set (track list below), and tell us what song is missing from the set that most deserved to be on there.

2. After you do that, email me at contest@hiphopmusic.com to put your name in the hat.

Here's more info from Hip-O, and the track listing:


Twenty-five years after 1979's "Rapper's Delight" broke open the floodgates, hip hop's influence is everywhere--from music to movies, fashion to vocabulary. Now, honoring the past, celebrating the present and anticipating the future, the four-CD The Hip Hop Box (Hip-O Records/UMe), released April 20, 2004, brings together 51 of the genre's greatest turning points, highlights, landmarks and breakthroughs, each digitally remastered. Starring most of hip hop's greatest artists, from the Sugarhill Gang of 1979 to the 50 Cent of 2003, the tracks were culled from dozens of record labels.

For the first time, as journalist Tom Terrell writes in the liner notes, The Hip Hop Box allows fans to "follow the drumbeat from Genesis to Revelation, innocence to hedonism, playfulness to violence, happiness to bitterness, self-hate to self-love." Along with Terrell's historical essay, the box set features notes by Public Enemy's Chuck D and Michael A. Gonzales (co-author of the classic text on rap Bring The Noise), plus an essay by one of the set's compilers, paying tribute to hip hop's reggae heritage. The Hip Hop Box continues the Hip-O Records tradition of genre box sets, including The Funk Box (2000) and The Reggae Box(2001).

disc One
01 Sugarhill Gang Rapper's Delight short 12 version
02 Kurtis Blow The Breaks extended version
03 Treacherous Three The Body Rock
04 Afrika Bambaataa & The Soul Sonic Force Planet Rock
05 Grand Master Flash & The Furious Five featuring Melle Mel & Duke Bootee The Message
06 Run-D.M.C. Sucker M.C.'s (Krush-Groove 1)
07 UTFO Roxanne Roxanne
08 Roxanne Shante Roxanne's Revenge
09 Salt-n-Pepa Push It
10 Too $hort Freaky Tales
11 Kool Moe Dee Wild Wild West

disc Two
01 Eric B. & Rakim Follow The Leader
02 Boogie Down Productions My Philosophy 12 version
03 Ice-T I'm Your Pusher
04 M.C. Hammer Turn This Mutha Out
05 Public Enemy Fight The Power soundtrack version
06 The 2 Live Crew Me So Horny
07 Biz Markie Just A Friend
08 De La Soul (Featuring Jungle Brothers, Q-Tip, Phife, Queen Latifah & Monie Love)
Buddy native tongue decision version
09 3rd Bass The Gas Face
10 A Tribe Called Quest I Left My Wallet In El Segundo
11 Main Source Looking At The Front Door
12 Chubb Rock Treat 'Em Right

disc Three
01 Naughty By Nature O.P.P.
02 DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince Summertime
03 DJ Quik Tonite
04 Black Sheep The Choice Is Yours (Revisited)
05 Arrested Development Tennessee
06 Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)
07 Digable Planets Rebirth Of Slick (Cool Like Dat)
08 The Pharcyde Passin' Me By
09 Onyx Slam
10 Queen Latifah U.N.I.T.Y.
11 Wu-Tang Clan C.R.E.A.M.

disc Four
01 Redman/Method Man How High remix
02 Junior M.A.F.I.A. featuring Little Caesar, Little Kim And The Notorious B.I.G.
Gettin' Money (The Get Money Remix) dirty version
03 Bone Thugs-n-Harmony Tha Crossroads
04 Scarface featuring 2Pac & Johnny P Smile
05 Busta Rhymes Put Your Hands Where My
Eyes Could See
06 Timbaland & Magoo Luv 2 Luv U remix
07 Gang Starr You Know My Steez
08 DMX (featuring Sheek of The Lox)
Get At Me Dog street version
09 Noreaga Superthug (What, What)
10 The Roots featuring Jill Scott You Got Me live
11 Common The Light
12 2Pac Until The End Of Time rp remix
13 50 Cent featuring Nate Dogg 21 Questions
14 Dr. Dre featuring Snoop Dogg The Next Episode
15 Warren G & Nate Dogg Regulate
16 Craig Mack Flava In Ya Ear
17 Method Man featuring Mary J. Blige
I'll Be There For You / You're All I Need To Get By puff daddy mix

Posted by jsmooth995 at April 15, 2004 2:08 PM

Weblog Archives